About Us

Staff

Catherine Benson          director@heermancelibrary.org
Betty Bigler                     bbigler@heermancelibrary.org
Lynn Erceg                      lerceg@heermancelibrary.org
Eileen Goble                    egoble@heermancelibrary.org
Maureeen Hanse             mhanse@heermancelibrary.org
Christine Reda                creda@heermancelibrary.org
Jennifer Grounds            jgrounds@heermancelibrary.org
Jacqueline Whitbeck      jwhitbeck@heermancelibrary.org

 

About the Library:

The mission of the Heermance Memorial Library is to inspire lifelong learning and to support and enhance the cultural and recreational needs of our community.

The Heermance Memorial Library was chartered by the N. Y. S. Board of Regents on March 12, 1908. The library was established according to the terms of the will of Eleanor Christina Heermance. Miss Heermance, a life-long resident of Coxsackie, was born in 1820 and died in 1907. In her will, Miss Heermance bequeathed her home at 1 Ely Street and a trust fund to establish a circulating library for the residents of the Town and its vicinity. This bequest provided residents of Coxsackie a library building and funding for library services for 92 years.

On October 6, 1999 the residents of the Town of Coxsackie voted overwhelmingly to make the Heermance Memorial Library a Special District Library. As a result the Heermance Memorial Library is funded through taxes, which are levied following the annual vote on the budget in October of each year. A new charter was received in 2000. Residents of the Town of Coxsackie vote each year on the library budget and elect 3 members to the Board of Trustees. The library tax is listed as a separate item on the Town of Coxsackie tax bill.

Board of Trustees:

Tom Silvious (President), Eileen West (Vice President), Caitlin Ippolito (Secretary), Mark Maraglio (Treasurer),  Charles Hailer, Marilyn Rausch, Carol Serazio, Laura Shauger, Anna Tailleur

2021  Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule

Meetings all held at the Library, the 3rd Thursday of each month at 6:30 pm (unless otherwise noted). If the Board cannot meet as scheduled, make-up will be the next Saturday 9:30 am at the Library.  If interested in joining a meeting, contact the Library Director at director@heermancelibrary.org.