The Heermance Memorial Library is located at 1 Ely Street. 1 Ely Street is at the west end of Reed Street in downtown Coxsackie.
View Map

Contact Us:

Heermance Memorial Library
1 Ely Street
Coxsackie, NY 12051
Phone 518-731-8084
Fax 518-731-8264


Linda Deubert               director@heermancelibrary.org
Sandy Stephen              sstephen@heermancelibrary.org
Christine Reda              creda@heermancelibrary.org
Jacqueline Whitbeck  jwhitbeck@heermancelibrary.org
Lynn Erceg                     lerceg@heermancelibrary.org


About the Library:

The mission of the Heermance Memorial Library is to inspire lifelong learning and to support and enhance the cultural and recreational needs of our community.

The Heermance Memorial Library was chartered by the N. Y. S. Board of Regents on March 12, 1908. The library was established according to the terms of the will of Eleanor Christina Heermance. Miss Heermance, a life-long resident of Coxsackie, was born in 1820 and died in 1907. In her will, Miss Heermance bequeathed her home at 1 Ely Street and a trust fund to establish a circulating library for the residents of the Town and its vicinity. This bequest provided residents of Coxsackie a library building and funding for library services for 92 years.

On October 6, 1999 the residents of the Town of Coxsackie voted overwhelmingly to make the Heermance Memorial Library a Special District Library. As a result the Heermance Memorial Library is funded through taxes, which are levied following the annual vote on the budget in October of each year. A new charter was received in 2000. Residents of the Town of Coxsackie vote each year on the library budget and elect 3 members to the Board of Trustees. The library tax is listed as a separate item on the Town of Coxsackie tax bill.

2014 Annual Report to the Community

Board of Trustees:

Catherine Benson, William Conine (President), Wanda Dorpfeld, Jeffrey Jones, Carol Serazio, Maryanne Simmons, Tom Silvious, Jennifer Weinstein, Claudine West,

All meetings are held at the Library on the 3rd Thursday of the month at 7:00 pm unless otherwise noted.*

2014  Schedule

  1. Meetings (all held at the Library 3rd Thursdays at 7:00 pm unless otherwise noted) If the Board cannot meet as scheduled, make-up will be the next Sat 9:30 am at the Library.
  2. Scheduled:  October 9th, November 20th, December 18th
  3. 2015 Budget Presentation at the Town Board September 9th
  4. Election Date Tuesday October 14th

 2014 Minutes







Linda Deubert

Library Policies

Collection Development-3-20-14

Copier-copyright Policy 3-20-14

Confidentiality of library records 5-15-08

Displays-and-Exhibits-Policy 3-21-13

FOIL Policy 9-6-12

Furniture and Equipment Use Policy 9-6-12

Gift Policy11-15-07

Internet Policy 02-20-14

Law Enforcement Policy 6-19-08

Library Card and Borrowing Policy 5-20-10

Meeting Room Policy 2-16-12

Patron Code of Conduct Policy 02-20-14

Programming Policy-3-20-14

Public posting policy 7-17-08

Unattended Children Policy-6-19-08

Volunteer Policy 8-20-09

Wireless Access Policy 5-20-10

3 Year Plan